SLIDER

Top Ten Most Unique Books I've Read

I have to confess, today's meme was difficult. (Do I always say this?) Why? Because I've recently read some books that would neatly fit into this topic and I cannot yet share about them... even though I really want to share and see if you all have read them. Instead I searched - and searched - through the archives of my bookish reads and came up with these oldies - some of which are forever favorites, as well as two books that I anticipate as falling into this category. That's normal right?
 

This week, the new official Broke and Bookish topic is:
 
Top Ten Most Unique Books I've Read

These books are as follows.
Here are why they made this list:

Of Poseidon by Anna Banks: mermaids? What could be better, really, who doesn't like a good mermaid story! (This is the first I've NOT read.)

Glamorous Illusions by Lisa T. Bergren: this one made the list because it's really SO much more than merely a historical novel. It's romantic, atmospheric, exciting and gorgeous - not to mention teaching its heroine something she never knew about herself.

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins: this was my first exposure to the dystopian genre and gracious, it IS unique whether or not a reader likes it. Personally, I have serious love-hate feelings about it, however it's a book that isn't afraid of being different.

Born of Persuasion by Jessica Dotta: if you like high-drama in the tradition of Austen or Bronte, you'll enjoy this one. It's full of mystery and an interesting love triangle.

These Broken Stars by Aimee Kaufman and Meghan Spooner: a love story in space? Yep, I think that qualifies.

One Tuesday Morning by Karen Kingsbury: some of Karen's books "work" for me, others not so much. This is one that resonated and I admire her writing it very much. It's full of relationships that aren't of the norm all while tackling the emotional subject of 9/11.

Anomaly by Krista McGee: entertaining for anyone who enjoys the dystopian genre. 

A Phantom Enchantment by Eve Marie Mont: this is my current read and already it's shaping up to be unique - a missing boyfriend, a Paris setting and plenty of drama.

Delirium by Lauren Oliver: this is the second title I haven't read but expect to be an interesting read. Plus, may I just say, the cover is awesome.

My Stubborn Heart by Becky Wade: Becky's debut novel made the list just because it was the book that made me fall in love all over again with the contemporary romance genre plus it has plenty of snazziness all its own. The characters don't conform and the romance is at a pace that is not just realistic (which I love) but also a couple that "felt" very genuine in their pursuit of one another and finding God again.

Your turn! What are some of the most unique novels you've read?
Got any good recommendations for this reader?
Comment if you have any thoughts to share.

24 comments

  1. Great list Rissi! I see a lot of familiar titles on your list, but also some I've never heard of--Born of Persuasion in particular sounds interesting :)

    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for reading, Lianne. Born of Persuasion is a lovely read. It took me a little bit to get "into" it but the mystery building is fantastic and of course, it left off at a place that makes the reader immediately eager to read book two! ;)

      Off to read your list.

      Delete
  2. Great list! I have Anomaly on my list too. Thanks for sharing this!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anomaly is really fun if you enjoy the dystopian genre, Tami. :)

      Thanks for visiting.

      Delete
  3. Yay! Thank you SOO much for including Born of Persuasion! I love The Hunger Games, so I'm going to check out the other novels recommended, too!

    (FYI Right now Born of Persuasion is FREE via e-book, so your readers can check it out for themselves. Also, I'm giving away a first edition Lucy Maud Montgomery novel on my Facebook page to help spread the word)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Happy to, Jessica - it was one of the most unique reads I've read and of course, that is meant in the best sense. You'd probably enjoy Anomaly if you like THG and I suspect Delirium too though I've yet to read that one. :)

      Thanks for the info. about your novel! How fun - and best of luck.

      Delete
  4. I haven't heard about some of those books, so I will have to check them out.

    I have heard that 'The Grand Tour' series is good. Now that I know it's unique too I will have to give it a try very soon.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Fun - hope you find some new reads, Ella.

      If you like historical, the Grand Tour books are fantastic - so much depth, detail and fascinating plots. But then, Lisa is a talented author. :)

      Delete
  5. Oooo what a list. Sounds like I need to try My Stubborn Heart again.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hope you enjoy My Stubborn Heart if you ever try it, Juju. There were a few things I wished had been done different though mostly, it was a delight. :)

      Delete
  6. I've never read a book about mermaids before and I like the idea of a romance in space. They are certainly interesting ideas. One unique book that I read a while ago was the Book Thief as it had Death as the narrator.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Neither have I read a mermaid story, Carlyn (Of Poseidon is one I'm anticipating to be unique) and cannot wait to give it a try. Sounds good. 'Stars' is good, and I'm anticipating the second novel.

      Ooo! Book Thief is one I've heard great things about. Not sure if I'll ever read it, though I may rent the film. At some point.

      Glad you stopped by!

      Delete
  7. Mermaid books! I want to read and write one. And I agree, the Hunger Games is different, whether you like it or not.

    I recently finished "Glittering Promises." "The Grand Tour series is just soooo good." It's one of those historical fiction series that stands out, and it has fed my appetite for wanting to see more of the world.

    I think one of the more unique reads I have read is probably Elizabeth Camden's "The Rose of Winslow Street." It seemed different from other Christian fiction that I've read- and it was a good uniqueness.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me, too, Grace - I'd go for reading and writing one also! I'll start - for now - with reading one. Hopefully this summer. :)

      Yay for more Grand Tour series love. Those books are darn good. It was sad to see it come to a close yet at the same time, it had a happy ending so all was well in Cora's world. Oo, yes! Elizabeth's novels the tops. Love how she writes and she is the one historical author I will read everything - no matter the era. :)

      Delete
  8. Awesome list! These Broken Stars was on my list too!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Missie! Glad you stopped by - and now I'm off to read your list, too. :)

      Delete
  9. Ooo yes! I love your Top Ten Tuesday lists! Totally agree with the books I've read on your list and the ones I haven't I'm adding to my (very long and growing) TBR pile. I'm reading The Fault in Our Stars right now and I'd say it's pretty unique. Thanks for great recommendations, Rissi!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Happy reading, Bekah - maybe you'll find some new favorites (my TBR pile is WAY too long also), that is part of what makes book blogging so fun... offering new recommendations! :)

      I've see tons of excitement for The Fault in our Stars because of the film. Not sure if ever I'll read the book or not (I tend to be a "happy" reader), however I'd agree - it sounds unique.

      Delete
  10. I just grabbed Born of Persuasion this week for free. I'm really looking forward to reading it! I also have a love/hate relationship with The Hunger Games. My Stubborn Heart is still one of my favorite books! :) We're doing a tour for her for Meant to Be Mine and I just love her!

    I didn't do this one, but I have been wondering all day if I should have. I have a great list of unique books. One that would make my list would definitely be The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. You know, I may just quickly put up a post. I was going to read, but then I'll stay up late...well, later. ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay for Born of Persuasion! It was a great, fresh historical read so I hope you enjoy it, Tressa. I've liked the films better than the original HG book, however I would read it again now I've seen the films and see if that perspective changes. Three cheers for Becky - she's a lovely author and lady, and I'm happy to help promote her books in any way I can. They're worth that and so much more!

      Ooh! Hope you did do this one. I think I'm skipping next week but am coming back the next - it's about favorite characters... or something. ;)

      Delete
    2. I actually prefer the HG movies much more than the books myself. I actually had to force my way through the books and was in such a mood at the end. I had to go find something wonderful and sweet and happy to read after them. I'm hoping they cut a lot of the violence out of the book for the third movie as they've done in the other two and it will make it much better.

      Delete
    3. Same here. I still "need" to read the final two books (my intention was to read CF prior to the film, but well, I just couldn't wait to see the sequel :D) so it'll be interesting to see what I think about those. The movies are more engaging whereas I struggled liking the characters in the book, I didn't in the film.

      Funny you mention the third book - almost everyone I have chatted with says Mockingjay is their least favorite, if it's got too much in the way of violent content I can see why!

      Delete
  11. I loved Karen Kingsbury's 9/11 series and also My Stubborn Heart - some of my favorite books :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay for favorites! Love both you mention, Rachel and was really very impressed by Karen's story-telling in the 9/11 books - particularly that first book. :)

      Delete

Have a thought? Don't be shy, go ahead and leave one... or two... or three! I reply to every comment. If you're new to the blog, please don't hesitate to introduce yourself and your blog - we love chatting around here!

Feedback and every comment is appreciated and read - I always leave a response; your opinions are respected and I ask that you show mine the same courtesy.

(If you post under “anonymous,” please leave a name. If you don't have a Google account, you can type your name into the Name/URL and if you have no site, just leave "URL" blank.)

If you are still reading my ramblings, thank you for following this little blog and for being one of its supporters. I’ve enjoyed getting to know each of you, friends!

© Finding Wonderland | Where Stories Begin • Theme by Maira G.