Theme Layout

Boxed or Wide or Framed

[Wide]

Theme Translation

Display Featured Slider

Featured Slider Styles

Display Grid Slider

Grid Slider Styles

[style1][caption3]

Display Trending Posts

Display Author Bio

Display Instagram Footer

SLIDER

Nowhere to Turn by Lynette Eason


About the Book:
Author: Lynette Eason
Publisher: Revell
Source: Publisher Provided
Publication Date: 2014
Find the Review elsewhere:
Find the Book Elsewhere:
Series: Hidden Identity, book 2
Genre: Fiction; Mystery/Suspense
Rating: 4 out of 5


In the suspense genre, there have been far too many stories to possibly pick out a favorite. Since more than one of these books often finds a place on the bookshelf, my opinion on a favorite suspense author wavers each time I read a new book from one of the five or so authors whose novels fall into this category and I regularly read. Lynette Eason’s follow up to her on-going series has again thrown my “mental” rankings into turmoil. In it, we meet Dani Harding, a woman with an 11-year-old son and a husband, who is anything but loving. Instead he’s an abuser with a badge and a man who erases Dani’s cries for help by covering up any claims she makes to law enforcement. Dani finally gathers the courage to leave Kurt, only to learn that same day, Kurt has been killed. Assuming she’s finally safe, she returns in the hopes of rebuilding her life. Trouble again finds her when it becomes apparent someone is still out to do her harm – this leads her to Adam Buchanan, a former law enforcement agent now working with a private security firm… and someone with many secrets of his own.

As is the new standard in Christian fiction, this novel is one of the best if you’re craving a fast-paced mystery. The pace moves faster than most because of the subject matter and seems to take away more of the character interactions because of that, however, the author wisely gives us an epilogue that takes place a lengthy amount of time later, so that while the falling-in-love bit and healing happens “off screen,” I’ve no doubt that what happens in the interim is a genuine time of healing for everyone. If you aren’t as keen on the romance angle in suspense, this would be the proper novel to pick up. Dani’s reliance on Adam is more for safety and Adam’s interest in Dani is based on attraction (as well as a sense of justice and making her feel safe again) for the majority of the book’s primary story. This turns out to be an aspect I respected since too often the romance intermingles with the breath-catching suspense, two opposite genres attempt to co-exist and what usually happens is the romance comes off as improbable.   

Another pleasant element from Lynette’s talent is the easy-going way in which she writes. This book reads easily and in spite of the thrill seeker plots and subjects, the book isn’t hard to enjoy because of the writing style – and of course, it helps that the pages fly by because the reader has a kind of compulsion to see the characters through to the end, mainly to escape the baddies and find a safety long overdue. Fans of Dani Pettrey or Irene Hannon won't want to miss these books. I’m not sure if this is my favorite of her books (of what I’ve read), however this new series is certainly shaping up to be one of the most exciting!

Synopsis: The day Danielle Harding takes her 11-year-old son, Simon, and flees from her abusive husband, is the same day Kurt Harding dies. A relieved Dani believes she and her son are finally safe--but in reality, the danger has just begun. When Kurt was alive, he took something important to a mysterious person. That person wants the item back and believes Dani now has it. As she and her son run for their lives, they have nowhere to turn, until she hires Adam Buchanan of Operation Refuge and goes into hiding. Unfortunately, she won't be able to hide for long . . .

From the first breathless scene, this tension-laced story will hold readers in its iron grip. Bestselling author Lynette Eason propels readers along at a breakneck pace in a race to discover the truth and a better future. – Goodreads

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of this book for reviewing purposes.
QuickEdit
Rissi
10 Comments
Share :

10 comments:

  1. Yay! I just finished this book last week and really liked it as well. It was *very* exciting and fast-paced... my favorite. Loved this review, Rissi! I always love reading your writing, you have such a way with words. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm so happy you liked this one, Bekah! I really did too - it's a highly entertaining read. Still think Dani's are my favorite, but I always enjoy Lynette's, plus her style is super "easy," something that makes reading her books always a delight.

      Are you going to be reading Irene Hannon's new book? So far, I've loved her latest series.

      As always, thank *you* for commenting and reading! I appreciate it. :)

      Delete
    2. It definitely was entertaining. I actually got so into it I think I yelled out loud at one point... lol. Yes, I received "Deceived" in the mail just today! But I had no idea that it was the third book in a series when I signed up. *face palm* I always do that. Oh, well. I'm just hoping that I don't have to read the previous books to understand this one?

      Delete
    3. Yay - lucky you! I'm hoping my copy arrives soon. :)

      I would say you're safe to read this series without having read the prior two. Of course the characters from the first two books will likely appear, but in terms of understanding Deceived, you will be fine. Happy reading! :)

      Delete
  2. I can't wait to read this one! You know I love suspense novels, so this sounds great. Plus, I read Lynette Eason's last one so I should read this one as well. As always, thanks for the great review, Rissi! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank YOU For reading, Jillian.

      I hope you enjoy this one - it's GREAT suspense and definitely one of my favorite in its genre of the year. Happy reading. :)

      Delete
  3. I love her books! I love this genre too and other others who write similar books - Dee Henderson, Terri Blackstock, Irene Hannon, DiAnn Mills, Dani Pettrey, Lis Wiehl and others. It's always to find out about new books and series coming out. This book is on my to-read list on Goodreads - hopefully the library will get it soon. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yay! In that case, I'm sure you'll thoroughly enjoy this novel, Rachel. It's great.

      Wonderful authors you list as favorites; I always enjoy Dani's books. She has the perfect "style" for my reading preferences. :)

      Delete
  4. I definitely agree that the new trend for this genre is intense and fast and a little scary. Those books I read for the Inspy's and some others I read recently were really, really intense and I thought they all could compete in the general suspense market with the best of them. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't think Lynette's are nearly as intense as say, Steven James because I find her writing very "easy" to read. I'm not constantly tipped up by technical details or such, which makes reading her novels much more pleasant. :)

      Delete

Have a thought? Don't be shy, go ahead and leave one... or two... or three! I reply to every comment. If you're new to the blog, please don't hesitate to introduce yourself and your blog - we love chatting around here!

Feedback and every comment is appreciated and read - I always leave a response; your opinions are respected and I ask that you show mine the same courtesy.

(If you post under “anonymous,” please leave a name. If you don't have a Google account, you can type your name into the Name/URL and if you have no site, just leave "URL" blank.)

If you are still reading my ramblings, thank you for following this little blog and for being one of its supporters. I’ve enjoyed getting to know each of you, friends!

Follow @rissi006