Theme Layout

Boxed or Wide or Framed

[Wide]

Theme Translation

Display Featured Slider

Featured Slider Styles

Display Grid Slider

Grid Slider Styles

[style1][caption3]

Display Trending Posts

Display Author Bio

Display Instagram Footer

SLIDER

Cold Shot by Dani Pettrey


 
About the Book:
Author: Dani Pettrey
Publisher: Bethany House
Source: Publisher/Author Provided
Publication Date: 2016
Find the Review elsewhere:
Amazon ǀ Blogger ǀ Goodreads ǀ Wordpress
Find the Book Elsewhere:
Series: Chesapeake Valor, Book 1
Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Romance/Romantic Suspense
Rating: 5 out of 5

It's been five years since I read Dani Pettrey’s debut novel, Submerged. Since then, she wrote an additional four (series) novels connected to that debut, all of which were a part of the Alaskan Courage series. Last year marked the conclusion to that series and 2016 the beginning of something new. Her new series gets things running with Cold Shot, a mystery novel that again introduces us to a slew of memorable (to say nothing of handsome and heroic) characters.  


Since a moment of hesitation ruined his life, former SWAT sniper, Griffin McCray works as a Gettysburg park ranger. During one of his nightly rounds, Griff discovers a disturbed grave is home to a body that is anything but a historic skeletal artifact. This brings forensic anthropologist Finley Scott to the scene along with crime scene analyst Parker Mitchell – a face from Griff’s past (one he'd rather forget). When the third member of a gang from Griff’s college days, FBI agent Declan Gray, also is needed for the case, Griff finds his past may have something to teach him, and his present is in danger of repeating that past.
 
As usual, it takes no more than a chapter to become hooked on one of Dani’s stories. Cold
Shot is yet again a brilliant and entertaining piece of fiction full of fast-paced twists that keep a curious reader rapidly turning the pages. There are vast differences in this new series launcher (in comparison to Dani’s Alaskan series) without the structure and integrity of the genre changing. Some of the setups face many similarities, most especially in the multitude of characters that are introduced within a matter of a few chapters. This calls to mind a familiar familial scenario not unlike that which the McKenna siblings enjoyed from her earlier series.  

Describing this story quite escapes me. Keeping things simple, I found the story wonderful and inventive in new ways. Though there is safety in the familiar, I like a balance of comfort and out-of-the-box thinking in fiction, and I think Dani achieves this in Cold Shot. This is an exhilarating, exciting and first class mystery. Between the primary whodunit theme and the memorable characters – all of whom not only have epic names (seriously, I love the unique knack Pettrey has for naming her characters something that keeps them present in the readers mind because they’re so unique) but well-plotted backstories, this hot-off-the-press novel is not to be missed. (Trust me.)

Fans of Lynette Eason or Dee Henderson will find another kindred spirit inside the pages of Dani Pettrey’s Cold Shot; it’s romantic suspense at its very best.


Synopsis: In college, Griffin McCray and his four best friends had their lives planned out. Griffin and Luke Gallagher would join the Baltimore PD. Declan Gray would head to the FBI and Parker Mitchell would go on to graduate school as a crime scene analyst. But then Luke vanished before graduation and their world--and friendships--crumbled.

Now Griffin is a park ranger at Gettysburg, having left life as a SWAT-team sniper when a case went bad. The job is mostly quiet--until the day he captures two relic hunters uncovering skeletal remains near Little Round Top. Griffin just wants the case to go away, but charming forensic anthropologist Finley Scott determines that the body is modern--a young social justice lawyer missing since spring--and all evidence points to the work of an expert sniper. When FBI agent Declan Gray takes over the case, past and present collide. Griffin soon realizes he'll need to confront some of the darkest days of his life if he--and those he cares about--are going to escape a downward spiral of murder that crosses continents. - Goodreads

Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of this book for reviewing purposes.
QuickEdit
Rissi
10 Comments
Share :

10 comments:

  1. Dani Pettrey is one of my all-time favorite authors, and reading your rave review for her latest makes me want to read it all the more! I missed getting a review copy (ugh) but I'll have to buy it soon whenever I am finally caught up on my current reads. Fantastic review, as always! :D

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This one is SO good, Bekah. Hope you can read it soon - and I totally know what you mean about missing a review copy. Sometimes I *have* to tell myself "no, you can't sign up right now." ;)

      Ps; if you're interested, there is a giveaway for a paperback of this one running on the blog. :)

      Delete
  2. Replies
    1. Hi! If you'd like to enter Dani Pettrey's sweepstakes, you just click on the banner advertising it above. It will redirect you to Dani's website and the information on how you enter. If you're wondering how to enter Finding Wonderland's book giveaway, you can find the Rafflecopter form and all the information on the giveaway post. Hope that was helpful. :)

      Delete
  3. I was actually going to pass this one up because I'm trying to limit my eARCs more, but then I read the excerpt and saw all the good reviews and reneged on that. Lol! It sounds like I'm really going to love it. Now I just need to read it. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Uh-oh! Broke your eARC rule, huh!? I know the struggle. Let me tell ya', it's REAL! ;) I think you will like Cold Shot, Tressa. Especially if you liked Dani's last series or authors like Lynette Eason.

      Delete
  4. Rissi,
    Wow, what a post! Thank you for sharing about COLD SHOT, the sweepstakes, and your insightful reflections on the book. I LOVED how you put it: an exhilirating, exciting, and first-class mystery. Thanks again for all that you do in support of great story, Rissi! ~Amanda

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My pleasure, Amanda. It's always fun to put anything together related to Dani's novels. Hopefully, next time I'll participate more fully in the sweepstakes - apologies for all the confusion this year. :)

      Thanks so much for stopping by. Always great to chat with you. :)

      Delete
  5. I love this review! Dani Pettrey is one of my favorite authors.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Camie - and me too! Dani's books are always brilliant. Looking forward to many more from her. :)

      Delete

Have a thought? Don't be shy, go ahead and leave one... or two... or three! I reply to every comment. If you're new to the blog, please don't hesitate to introduce yourself and your blog - we love chatting around here!

Feedback and every comment is appreciated and read - I always leave a response; your opinions are respected and I ask that you show mine the same courtesy.

(If you post under “anonymous,” please leave a name. If you don't have a Google account, you can type your name into the Name/URL and if you have no site, just leave "URL" blank.)

If you are still reading my ramblings, thank you for following this little blog and for being one of its supporters. I’ve enjoyed getting to know each of you, friends!

Follow @rissi006