Theme Layout

Boxed or Wide or Framed

[Boxed]

Theme Translation

Display Featured Slider

Featured Slider Styles

Display Grid Slider

Grid Slider Styles

[style1][caption3]

Display Trending Posts

Display Author Bio

Display Instagram Footer

SLIDER

Her One and Only by Becky Wade - Fall Head Over Heels for This Romance



About the Book
Author: Becky Wade
Publisher: Bethany House
Source: Publisher Provided
Publication Date: 2016
Find the Review elsewhere:
Amazon ǀ Goodreads ǀ Wordpress
Find the Book Elsewhere:
Series: The Porter Family, Book 4
Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Romance, Mystery
Rating: 5 out of 5

Sometimes a wrapping can be deceiving, either for the good or bad. Other times it matches perfectly with the story we are about to step inside. Becky Wade’s novels fall into this ideal with class, grace and romcom bliss. Becky reemerged in the fiction game some five or six years back with the debut My Stubborn Heart, a story about a broken hockey player and the woman who helps him change. Then came the Porter’s, a family comprised of three elder brothers and their young, wild child of a sister Dru. Finally, we are honored to return to small-town Holley, Texas and meet the woman Dru grew up to be.  


Following a wild child series of mistakes, Dru Porter is finally “home.” In more ways than one. After letting her brothers pick her up after those mistakes, she joined for a tour with the Marines, and is now back in Holley where she works as a protection agent. Her latest client is Gray Fowler. An NFL superstar, Gray is dealing with a crazed stalker, but keeping his relationship with the beautiful and fierce Dru isn’t easy. As the two of them work together to root out the identity of the stalker, the stalker escalates. It’ll take Dru breaking the rule she promised herself she never would, and Gray breaking out of his protective outer shell to unmask this threat… and maybe to open their hearts to new possibilities.  
That's what love does. Love rescues. - Her One and Only
As is the norm with a Becky Wade novel, the signature style she gives each of her stories is
displayed in beautiful form. Her One and Only sparkles with witty charm and emotionally charged acts of forgiveness, love and healing. Because Dru wasn’t front and center in comparison to her three older brothers, she was one of the most interesting characters. We only saw glimpses of her in the earlier books of the series and it made her story one most keenly anticipated. Reading about her journey (even in the aftermath rather than the present) is a rewarding experience like none other, especially considering it’s this that closes out the beautiful series that has been this family saga.  

As usual, the story has a healthy dose of spark-infused banter between its protagonists. Dru is the rule keeper in this scenario while Gray is the devil-may-care football star who isn’t used to someone telling him “no.” Their opposing personalities and vision of the “rules” in their relationship makes for a fun read and experience. Some of the quips cause spontaneous laughter while some remind us of the power real, lasting love (based on more than chemistry) has. Gray is one of those men in need of shifting his lifestyle to better benefit not someone he’s come to love, but himself (as well as for the sake of another) because he's otherwise unable to live life fully. Dru is a redeemed, beautiful soul wise to the world, but not jaded by it because she blames no one (outside herself) or nothing for the choices that led her to this place.  

These books are written to be standalone if need be, but if you’ve not read a novel by Becky Wade, I’d recommend starting at the beginning with Undeniably Yours. It’s well worth it, plus will make the story arc (in this) between Meg and Bo all the more meaningful. The tease of a suspenseful mystery is also masterfully written.

Fans of authors like Melissa Tagg or Susan May Warren simply must read the novels Becky Wade pens. They’re insightful, humorous and unafraid to tackle some of life’s messier challenges. Her One and Only is no different. The only drawback is having to await to discover what Becky will next enchant readers with.

Synopsis: Gray Fowler, star NFL tight end, is being pursued by a stalker, so his team hires a protection agency to keep Gray under the watch of a bodyguard at all times. When Gray meets Dru Porter, an agent assigned to him, he's indignant. How can an attractive young female half his size possibly protect him?

But Dru's a former Marine, an expert markswoman, and a black belt. She's also ferociously determined to uncover the identity of Gray's stalker. And she's just as determined to avoid any kind of romantic attachment between herself and the rugged football player with the mysterious past. But the closer they get to finding the stalker, the closer they grow to each other. As the danger rises, can Dru and Gray entrust their hearts--and their lives--to one another? - Goodreads


Sincere thanks to the publisher for providing a complimentary copy of this book for reviewing purposes.
QuickEdit
Rissi
6 Comments
Share :

6 comments:

  1. "Becky Wade’s novels fall into this ideal with class, grace and romcom bliss." YES!! I knew you'd write a perfect review for this one, Rissi! And your graphic is amazing, as usual. I seriously loved this one...thinking of reading the series again soon (which I rarely do). Thumbs up to another fabulous review!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This series deserves ALL THE REREADS, Bekah. It's so amazing. I'd like to revisit this series and Becky's BH debut as well. All were lovely. Thank you, again, for the kind words! I SO appreciate YOU being a Finding Wonderland reader and for all the comments. Always great to chat with you. :)

      Delete
  2. AND NOW WE HAVE TO WAIT! Excellent review, Rissi. You have such a wonderful way with words. And I'm so glad you enjoyed this one as much as I did!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I most certainly did enjoy this one, Alyssa - and am with you: oh, the agony of awaiting Becky's next series! It sounds amazing though, and I've zero doubt it will be as good if not better than the Porter family series. :)

      Delete
  3. Yes! This one is such a swoony and sweet story. (like my alliteration? ;) Dru and Gray were just so perfect for each other. They really were!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Your alliteration is spot on, friend. This one is precisely as you summed it up. I adore Dru and Gray as individuals and a couple. How long do we have to wait for more from Becky!? ;)

      Delete

Have a thought? Don't be shy, go ahead and leave one... or two... or three! I reply to every comment. If you're new to the blog, please don't hesitate to introduce yourself and your blog - we love chatting around here!

Feedback and every comment is appreciated and read - I always leave a response; your opinions are respected and I ask that you show mine the same courtesy.

(If you post under “anonymous,” please leave a name. If you don't have a Google account, you can type your name into the Name/URL and if you have no site, just leave "URL" blank.)

If you are still reading my ramblings, thank you for following this little blog and for being one of its supporters. I’ve enjoyed getting to know each of you, friends!

Follow @rissi006