The Promise of Rayne by Nicole Deese – Compelling and Complex, a Contemporary Romance


A B O U T THE B O O K:
Author: Nicole Deese
Publisher: Waterfall Press (Amazon Imprint)
Source: Relz Author Services
Publication Date: 2016
Find the Review elsewhere:
E L S E W H E R E
Genre: Fiction; Contemporary Romance
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

For Rayne Shelby, accomplishing one career aspiration has become her purpose. Her long held dream has been to take over the family lodge. Her uncle keeps a tight rein on the family, but in his absence (traveling with her politician father as his campaign manager), Rayne is ready to step out of his shadow. And then she makes one mistake. A mistake that, in the eyes of her uncle, is proof positive she’s unable to “protect” the Shelby family name. 

Levi is a successful business man whose past is riddled with scars. He’s also happens to have a soft spot for Rayne, and has ever since their senior year. Only trouble is, Levi is associated with the man, Rayne’s family blames for derailing their heritage.


Why I let myself be surprised the sway of a good, no brilliant contemporary novel I don’t know. In my mind, I recognize how fond I am of the genre, but as I begin reading a new novel, I underestimate the depth of my respect for the genre. If that makes any sense. The Promise of Rayne is, easily one of the sweetest contemporary novels I’ve been privileged to read.

Though the outside of this novel isn’t typical to the contemporary romance brand, this one follows in the same path set out by predecessors. All of the prerequisites are present so as to ensure readers will have a pleasant experience but this one still breaks rules. The Promise of Rayne breaks out of a box and tells its own story in its own time. The skill with which Nicole weaves this story is wonderful. I lost count of the number of times I was transported into this world by just the words Nicole put to paper. The story isn’t just a journey, the writing that conveys it is as well. Every nuance is considered with care and written with consideration.
Love isn't measured by what we gain. It's measured by how much we give away.” 
These characters tunnel inside your heart and don’t let go. True their story is one of secrets and heartbreak, but it also finds joy in unexpected places. The story stuck with me when I wasn’t reading, and I was loathe to put it down when it came time to break away. Rayne and Levi’s story is one of the best contemporary romances I’ve experienced because it isn’t all about the “wait” or anticipation of them being together. There’s a surprise element to their relationship that I 110% approved of.

If you like contemporary romance, make sure to pick up The Promise of Rayne. It’s a delight from first page to final word, a final page that ends on a happy note, but left me wishing there was more. (I literally tapped to the next page thinking there was more yet to read.) Fans of authors like Melissa Tagg, Becky Wade, Amy Matayo or Tammy L. Gray will relish this new novel from Deese. It’s a must read for those of us who appreciate, understand and relate to the contemporary genre. There’s more than a love story inside these pages, and everything comes together in a promise of redemption. 



SynopsisRayne Shelby has spent her entire life trying to earn the approval of her high-powered family, with the hope of one day managing her late grandfather’s prestigious Idaho lodge. But when she makes a mistake that puts her future in jeopardy, she faces an impossible choice: defy her family or deny her dream. The only way to fix the mess she’s created is to enlist the help of her neighbor, Levi, the apprentice of her family’s greatest enemy. And if Rayne gets caught crossing the divided property lines, the consequences will be irreparable.

Levi Harding has never forgotten the August night he shared with Rayne when they were teens—or the way she later rejected him. Despite his warring instincts, he can’t ignore her plea for help or the spark that’s ignited between them. But now, as wildfires bear down on their town and family secrets are revealed, their newfound alliance might just go up in smoke. - Goodreads
  
I was provided a copy of this book by the publisher. All opinions in this review are my own. 

Review text is © Rissi JC and first appeared on Finding Wonderland (Dreaming Under the Same Moon), RissiWrites.com 
QuickEdit
Rissi
8 Comments

8 comments:

  1. Beautiful review, Rissi - I totally understand what you mean about respecting this genre. I really wanted to read and review this beauty, but couldn't find the time. :( It sounds amazing and I'm a fan of all the authors you mentioned, so I really must read it as soon as I can! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This is a feeling I know all too well, Bekah. I had to turn down a book recently too - and I *really* wanted to say yes. *sigh* We do sometimes have to learn our limits, which I think teaches us to be better bloggers too. :)

      YAY! Hope you can read this one soon. It's wonderful.

      Delete
  2. Can't wait to read this one. Thanks for the review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My pleasure, Candice; I do hope you enjoy if/when you have the chance to read this one. :)

      Delete
  3. Love cannot be explained, cannot be shown, and it is invisible. Reading books of such kind help to know what true love is while reading automatically drops of water comes from eyes saying you are deeply integrated with the story.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hope you enjoy this one, Sanjeet.

      Delete
  4. Yes! Such a wonderful story. I am absolutely a fan of Nicole Deese's now! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. As am I, Kara. Such a lovely author and story. :)

      Delete

Have a thought? Don't be shy, go ahead and leave one... or two... or three! I reply to every comment. If you're new to the blog, please don't hesitate to introduce yourself and your blog - we love chatting around here!

Feedback and every comment is appreciated and read - I always leave a response; your opinions are respected and I ask that you show mine the same courtesy.

(If you post under “anonymous,” please leave a name. If you don't have a Google account, you can type your name into the Name/URL and if you have no site, just leave "URL" blank.)

If you are still reading my ramblings, thank you for following this little blog and for being one of its supporters. I’ve enjoyed getting to know each of you, friends!

[name=Rissi] [img=Your Image Url Here] [description=auburn-hair. #bookblogger. downton abbey. inspys. internet-photo-shy. silver petticoat contributor. writer. the aspiration is to someday write professionally. a girl can dream, right?] (facebook=https://www.facebook.com/FindingWonderlandBlog/) (twitter=https://twitter.com/rissijc) (instagram=https://instagram.com/rissi006) (bloglovin=https://www.bloglovin.com/blogs/dreaming-under-same-moon-3249983) (pinterest=Pinterest Profile Url) (tumblr=Tumblr Profile Url)