SLIDER

Geek Girl by Holly Smale – A Story for the Nerdy Girl in All of Us in the Style of ‘Princess Diaries’


A B O U T THE B O O K
Author: Holly Smale
Publisher: Harper Teen
Source: Bought
Publication Date: 2015 (US Publication)
Find the Review elsewhere: 
Amazon | Blogger | Goodreads | Wordpress
E L S E W H E R E
Genre: Fiction; Contemporary YA
Series: Geek Girl, 1
Rating: ★★★★★


If there is one thing Harriet Manners knows, it’s this: from the top of her head, to the tip of her toes, she’s a geek. She’s no one’s best friend save for Nat, the one girl who has become Harriet’s one and only friend whether she likes it or not. Not only does Harriet deal with mean girls at school, but she also has a stalker-who-has-a-crush on her, which makes her life rather difficult.

But everything changes when, while accompanying Nat to an event for aspiring models, it’s Harriet who is “spotted.” Soon Harriet’s life is a mirage of makeup chairs, flamboyant people wishing to “manage” her, white lies that tumble into very big lies, and a mysterious, but cute guy!


This is one of those novels I’ve intended to read for years now. Ever since I saw the cute British covers, I was sold on this book being one I’d thoroughly enjoy. It has the kind of swagger all contemporary novels should. For me, this was, purely, a fluff piece (which is always a pro) kind of read that is not only hard to put down, but impossible not to 100% love.

Geek Girl has the kind of confectionery styling that makes one smile, laugh and root for its heroine. For me, this is because despite her fame, Harriet is, at heart, a simple girl who’s something of a klutz. Yep, like I said, relatable.  Before I even read this synopsis on Goodreads (included below), I described this as a Princess Diaries esque story, which made it was interesting to read it in the official blurb. This comparison is easy to draw, and for me, makes this novel all the more attractive. Though I’ve never read the Meg Cabot books, the Princess Diaries was a big part of my younger years, and a film that made my fairy tale loving heart swoon.

In a word, this contemporary “fairy tale” is catnip. Or it was for me. Harriet’s first-person narrative is warm, funny and easy to follow. Nat is a fierce, if not slightly melodramatic, protector, and then there is the curiosity that is Nick. His role is minimal at best, but in the end, I felt interested to discover where his character goes (or effects) as regards Harriet’s new normal.

Those who love, and maybe even miss, the kind of books that make you smile with nary a glimpse of spiraling into darkness are sure to discover a gem inside these pages. Late to this party or not, Geek Girl is without hesitation one of my favorites of the year. ♥



Synopsis: Geek + runway = a runaway UK hit! Geek Girl is the first book in a hilarious, internationally bestselling series that's perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and the Princess Diaries series.

Harriet Manners is a geek. She always has been, and she thought she always would be—but when she's discovered by a modeling agent, she leaps at the chance to reinvent herself. There's only one problem: Harriet is the definition of awkward. Can she transform from geek to chic? – Goodreads

Review text is © Rissi JC and first appeared on Finding Wonderland (Dreaming Under the Same Moon), RissiWrites.com 

8 comments

  1. Princess Diaries esque story?! Yes, please! I think I may have heard of this one, but don't remember if I ever read what it was about until now. It sounds like it would be "catnip" for me as well! Adding to my TBR asap.

    Amazing review, Rissi. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's SO cute, Bekah. I loved how "easy" Harriet's voice was and the charm of the story. The romance was unimportant to the norm, but that's okay - there is LOTS more story to be told. :)

      Hope you enjoy if/when you read this one - and as always, thanks for reading. :)

      Delete
  2. I'm so glad you liked this one! I thought it pretty cute and fun myself. Harriet is definitely relatable, as you said, and it's just overall got a lot of sweetness. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It does have sweetness, Kara. I love that about this one and the fact that Harriet's "voice" (POV) is so easy to read and enjoy. :)

      Delete
  3. How fun! I loved Princess Diaries, so I might need to give this one a try :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's darling, Becca. There's no "Princess" angle in terms of the character having royal blood, but it's got the same vibe. :)

      Delete
  4. Sometimes I just want a cute, light read like this. I totally agree! I'll have to check this one out.

    Nicole @ Feed Your Fiction Addiction

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This one is 100% darling, Nicole. I so hope you enjoy if/when you read it. :) Thanks for stopping by - and happy 2017!

      Delete

Have a thought? Don't be shy, go ahead and leave one... or two... or three! I reply to every comment. If you're new to the blog, please don't hesitate to introduce yourself and your blog - we love chatting around here!

Feedback and every comment is appreciated and read - I always leave a response; your opinions are respected and I ask that you show mine the same courtesy.

(If you post under “anonymous,” please leave a name. If you don't have a Google account, you can type your name into the Name/URL and if you have no site, just leave "URL" blank.)

If you are still reading my ramblings, thank you for following this little blog and for being one of its supporters. I’ve enjoyed getting to know each of you, friends!

© Finding Wonderland | Where Stories Begin • Theme by Maira G.